Tags

,

I just finished drafting and editing my latest weird tale, slated for ‘No Children Aloud’, so I can finally take some time to blog.

With the unofficial start of summer, and the party season that accompanies it, I spend some time gaming. OK, I admit it – I’m a game geek. I had played Dungeons & Dragons long before it became popular, and Magic until it too was gobbled up by a soulless corporation. My days of playing video games have also come and gone. These days, I find there are just too many things to learn and do, to waste the precious endless hours these time-suckers will eat up. I still occasionally feed my gaming monkey, but only when I am socializing with like-minded souls. I am indeed fortunate that I have a large circle of friends that are consistantly introducing me to new games.

These games are not the traditional pablum (e.g., Monopoly, Risk, et al.) usually foisted upon the American public. Rather, I would be so bold to guess-timate that 99% of people have never even heard of any of these games.

Here’s a list of games I’ve played over the past few years, with my recommendations. Take a gander at them at your favorite shopping website. It’s a good bet that I already have the ones I rate highly.

As always, as with any opinion, your mileage may vary.

Board Games
Name Enjoyment
Complexity
Repeat_Play
Overall
7 Wonders 4 / 4 / 4 Yes
Deadwood Studios 3 / 3 / 2 Uninspiring
Forbidden Island 3 / 4 / 1 Gave me a headache
Kill Dr. Lucky 5 / 3 / 1 Good for 2 plays, tops
King of Tokyo 3 / 3 / 2
5 / 3/ 4
Great, but only with the expansion pack.
Settlers of Catan 4 / 3 / 5 Yes
Stone Age 4 / 4 / 4 Yes
Ticket to Ride 5 / 3 / 5 Absolutely!
Takenoko 5 / 3 / 5 Absolutely!
Tokaido 4 / 4 / 3 Good, but too Zen
Card Games
Name Enjoyment
Complexity
Repeat_Play
Overall
Apples vs. Apples 5 / 1 / 4 Hilarious!
Balderdash 5 / 2 / 5 Love it!
Cards Against Humanity 5 / 1 / 2 Hilarious!
Guillotine 4 / 3 / 4 Yes
Munchkin 5 / 3 / 5 Absolutely!
Race for the Galaxy 1 / 5 / 1 Avoid like plague
